Shop Online at E HayesReturn to Home PageVisit Hammer Hardware websiteVisit our Columbus CafeVisit TradeZone websiteVisit our Facebook page
E Hayes and Sons. Celebrating 90 years in business 1932 - 2022
  1. HOME >
  2. Welcome to E Hayes and Sons >
  3. Our History

E Hayes and Sons. Our Story.





Neville Hayes, Managing Director of E Hayes and Sons 

"For nine decades, E Hayes and Sons have proudly stood behind the economic growth of our vibrant and innovative region.


We have encouraged and supported the wellbeing of our community and we have championed some of Southland’s unique individuals who have taken their expertise and talents to the world.


There is no doubt we could not have achieved all that we have were it not for the hard work, tireless dedication, and loyalty of our many valued staff, suppliers, colleagues and customers who have supported us over the past 90 years.


For that we sincerely thank you all."


Neville Hayes (1954 - 2024)

Managing Director



E Hayes and Sons is a family business in the truest sense.

Our company has a long and proud history in New Zealand, built around the strong family principles which our forebears brought to Southland almost 150 years ago.


Eben Ernest Hayes (known as Ernest) was a pioneering inventor, designer and manufacturer of agricultural equipment. He was born in England in 1851 and emigrated to New Zealand with his wife Hannah and infant son Llewellyn in 1882.


Ernest began his own engineering business in the township of Oturehua in Central Otago in 1895 developing numerous new products using his pioneering design skills. 

The Hayes name soon became synonymous with agriculture and engineering through his original inventions - many of which are still in use on farms today.

It was from this traditional family background of innovation, inventiveness and hard work that one of Ernest’s five sons, Irving, opened the Invercargill store of E Hayes and Sons in Leven Street in 1932.

From here, under the direction of Irving Hayes, the company grew in size and reputation as it continued to meet the needs of Southland industries, trade customers and the general public with an extensive range of hardware and engineering products and services.

Three generations later, E Hayes and Sons enjoys a proud reputation as one of New Zealand’s most iconic, family-owned hardware stores - and much more.


Our store now also provides a permanent home to the unique E Hayes Motorworks Collection. This privately-owned collection of over one hundred classic, vintage and modern motorcycles, automobiles, engines, equipment and memorabilia includes Burt Munro's Authentic, Original and Legendary 1920 Indian Scout - immortalised in the 2005 film, ‘The World’s Fastest Indian’.


Today our company employs a large team, many with a long and valued association with the company. Each is committed to maintaining our hard-earned reputation of providing good quality, exceptional personal service and advice in order to meet the needs of customers throughout Southland, New Zealand and around the world.

E Hayes history, Oturehua Engineering Works, Invercargill, hardware

Click here for a history of E Hayes and Sons.



Find out more about Hayes Engineering Works here


Hayes Engineering Works


* The original Hayes Engineering Works and Homestead  at Oturehua, Central Otago are a heritage listed property and open to the public as a visitor attraction.

This property is NOT owned or operated by E Hayes and Sons, Invercargill.


Hayes Engineering Works and Homestead is identified as a Tohu Whenua heritage site. Tohu Whenua are the places that have shaped Aotearoa New Zealand. The property gives visitors a unique opportunity to experience the fully operational, well-preserved 1890's Victorian workshop and restored 1920s homestead where Ernest Hayes invented, developed and marketed his iconic New Zealand farming products.


Find out more at:




The E Hayes Motorworks Collection  Trip Advisor 2020 Travelers´ Choice
Konstruk Content Management System